Norfolk and Western had the station built in 1881 for passenger rail service, it served as a hub for Bedford area commerce. It featured stone walls and a slate roof with a unique pitch. It had a good amount of space for loading and unloading of rail cars (not used as a parking lot). It served as a rail station through two world wars, the great depression, and so many more events (the famous Bedford Boys deployed to war from the station). Closing in 1971, the station changed hands and house different business until 2001 when the current owners opened the restaurant.
Inside, the old ticket counter is the hostess booth. There is a nice bar area with a mural with a train and Sharp Top/Flat Top in the background . The dinning area is spacious and comfortable. On nice days you can eat outside and watch a freight train pass on the still in use rail lines.
In September 2009, a fire devastated the Station. Determined not to lose the restaurant, owner’s Harry and Marty Leist, rebuilt the station to the exact same standards as it was originally built. While everything is very good, try Harry’s cheesecake or just order it to go.
Its a great place to go with family or friends.
Olde Liberty Station
Bedford VA 24523